Bread Crumbs?!

I continue to be amazed by what is in our food. Perfect example two nights ago. I was making spaghetti and meatballs. Something I have always made, but this time I used whole-wheat pasta for myself (Jared isn’t there yet) and organic tomato sauce with all natural ingredients. When it came time to make the meatballs, I grabbed my Progresso Italian seasoned bread crumbs. Once again, you really don’t want to know what’s in them. So I quickly googled homemade breadcrumbs. Turns out, they are the easiest thing in the world to make. You grab a few slices of bread (whole wheat and not store bought!) grind them in a food processor, and bake them for 10 minutes at 300 degrees. Then throw them back in your food processor and add some dried Italian herbs, and viola, Italian seasoned bread crumbs. SO easy. And they actually taste like bread! (Unlike the powered mystery stuff in the blue container.)

I steamed some broccoli and we had a great, easy meal. I will add the recipe to the recipe section. I will also add my recipe for turkey and brown rice stuffed peppers. Yum!

Leave a Reply

